Be Yourself

So, this is kind of a spur of the moment post, but it’s something that’s been on my heart to share for a while and I had the urge to write the post today.

Be honest: how often do you compare yourself to others? For me, it’s way more often than it should be. I look at pages on Instagram, on Facebook, Twitter, in magazines, on television… it’s everywhere. And I compare away.

“Why don’t I have that many followers?”

“I wish I looked like her.”

“I’m so jealous of her closet.”

“Ugh, I need to be her.”

I am just as guilty as everyone else, and I’m preaching to myself as well when I say this: Don’t do it.

Just don’t.

You were created for so much more. You were not created to be a clone of someone else. The world would be quite boring if we were all the same. We were all given different gifts and talents, and God wants you to use them for His glory.

We should be lifting each other up instead of tearing each other down.

Lecrae

This blog is an outlet for my thoughts because I’m terrified to be myself. That’s just me being real with you guys. Generally, when someone is different, it’s viewed as bad thing. But should it?

No. Not at all.

If you’re different, chances are, you march to the beat of a different drum. You do your own thing. You don’t follow someone’s footsteps. You make your own path.

And I’m also here to tell you, people are going to talk about you no matter what you do. There are some people who simply don’t want to see you succeed. And it’s hard.

Madea

 

It’s something I’m struggling with at the moment, but it is not the end of the world. What’s important is realizing that you only need to worry about what one person thinks, and that’s Jesus.

Psalm 139 14

God made everyone different. No one is the same. But, EVERYONE has been fearfully and wonderfully made by a perfect God who doesn’t make mistakes. You have a purpose. It is not the same as anyone else’s, so why should your path be?

I have a challenge. For the next thirty days (at least), spread positivity. Instead of comparing yourself to others, appreciate each person for what they bring to the table. Uplift one another. Love each other. A lot of problems in the world could be solved by love instead of hate.

I also challenge you to be yourself and don’t make apologies for who you are. Know that you are fearfully and wonderfully made by a God who made the ultimate sacrifice for you out of love.

I’ll be right there with you.

much love,

thelma lauren

 

 

Leave a Reply

