Lilly Recycle DIY

Hey y’all!!

So, today I want to show y’all the cutest little coasters I made for my apartment. I’m moving in sometime in August, and I can’t wait to share the finished product of my room once I finish it all!! I’ve been on the lookout for good deals on bedding, curtains, throw pillows, and decor, and I can’t wait to share what I’ve found! Stay tuned. Anyway, I wanted to make some coasters for my apartment because who wants to ruin furniture with drinks? (Sorry mom, for all the times I didn’t use a coaster when you asked me to.)

I didn’t feel like I would find any in stores that I loved, and I always like finding fun new projects to do. I also didn’t want to spend a ton of money on coasters. As a college student decorating an apartment, I’ve got to be a little thrifty, or I would have ZERO money. So, if you can find little things like this to do, and shop the sales at Hobby Lobby, you’ll save so much money and have some fun!

Supplies

You will need:
1) Lilly agenda to recycle the pages from. If you don’t have a Lilly agenda, you can use scrapbook paper!

2) Mod Podge (I used the gloss kind, but it’s whatever you prefer!)

3) A paintbrush, to brush the Mod Podge on

4) Mod Podge Sealant (to help waterproof a little extra)

5) Felt

6) Hot glue gun

7) Bathroom Tiles

8) Scissors

All the supplies I either had on hand or got for pretty cheap. I got the bathroom tiles at Lowe’s. 12 of them only cost me $2! The felt sheets were about 23 cents apiece at Wal-Mart, and the Modge Podge sealant was only about $3. So, as soon as you have all these things, you can begin!

Start by choosing your sheets, whether from an old Lilly planner or out of a book of scrapbook paper. I had more than enough out of my planner to choose from. I also laid down newspaper for easy cleanup later, but be careful, I learned the hard way the newspaper ink can smudge onto a coaster if it rubs against the wet Mod Podge.

2

Next, lay a tile out on the sheet you choose. If there are words on the sheet, flip it over and position it so the words/print are where you want it to be. Then, carefully flip it back over, still in place, and trace around the tile with a pen.

TIP: When you cut the paper, cut it bigger than the square and then fold the excess over onto the back, that way the sides are covered and the paper will stay.

Now that you’ve cut your paper, paint a layer of Mod Podge onto the tile. Not too thick, but not too thin. Just enough so that the paper sticks to it. Then, fold the edges over, and paint them over with Mod Podge so they stay flat against the tile. (See the picture below, I cut the excess folds off.)8

Now that the tile is covered, paint another layer of Mod Podge over the paper. It won’t hurt it, I promise!

5

The coaster above was my first try, and I had to reattach the bottom edge, which is why I suggest cutting the paper square bigger than you actually need it. Now, let the Mod Podge dry.

All 2

For the next step, I suggest going outside. Take the Mod Podge sealant (or whatever brand you choose) and spray the tiles. This will help ensure the coasters stay waterproof. I applied three coats, and let the applications dry per the directions on the can in between coats.

10

After the sealant dried, I waited a few hours to apply the felt to the bottom. I chose pink because I knew it would fit with Lilly perfectly! Also, as my mom pointed out, darker colors show less dirt… so I settled on hot pink instead of blush. I took the hot glue gun, glued onto the felt, and then pressed the felt to the bottom of the coaster. After it dries, you’re finished!

All coasters

Here are all the coasters I made! This is such a fun and easy project to do, I may do it again with regular scrapbook paper! These would make great gifts as well. If you try this, leave photos in the comments, or if you have any other DIY recommendations, drop them there as well. I hope all is well and everyone is enjoying summer! It’s flying by. School will be back in session before I know it! Thanks for reading.

much love,

thelma lauren

1 thought on “Lilly Recycle DIY”

Leave a Reply

